Bella Hadid, Emily Ratajkowski, And Dua Lipa Can’t Get Enough Of Midriff Floss

 Bella Hadid, Emily Ratajkowski, And Dua Lipa Can’t Get Enough Of Midriff Floss

Would you dare to bare like your favorite stars with this sultry look?

person human fashion shoe footwear clothing apparel evening dress gown robe

If you think the word “floss” refers to that swinging-pendulum Gen Z dance move or a piece of minty dental string, allow us to introduce another definition to your vocabulary — midriff floss, otherwise described as the tie fastenings that criss-cross around your torso to reveal a slice of the stomach (chiseled abs optional) à la Zendaya, Bella Hadid, Emily Ratajkowski, Kendall Jenner and more.

1 Zendaya : @christopher_esber.jpg

Photo via Instagram / @christopher_esber

Having soared in popularity in the early 2000s thanks to stars such as Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, and Lucy Liu, as with many noughties fashion trends, midriff floss is now back with a vengeance, snaking its way onto everything from red carpet-worthy gowns to straight-fit midi skirts to next-level bikinis. The sultry style crept back onto the runways of established and emerging brands alike last season, including Gucci, Tom Ford, Supriya Lele, and Christopher Esber, and judging from the Fall/Winter 2020 and Spring/Summer 2021 collections by Jacquemus, Victoria Beckham, Dion Lee, Maximilian Davis, Musier Paris and the like, it’s going to be around for a while longer.

2 Gucci SS2020.jpg
3 Christopher Esber SS2021.jpg
4 Jacquemus SS2021.jpg

Clockwise from top left: Gucci Spring/Summer 2020, Christopher Esber Spring/Summer 2021, Jacquemus Spring/Summer 2021

Less risqué than the whale tail but edgier than the crop top, midriff floss can easily transform a simple outfit into a statement look — depending on your ab-flashing comfort levels, the options run the gamut from minimal to more-is-more. Not sure where to begin? Keep scrolling to see how some of your favorite celebrities, influencers, and models are rocking the floss.


Bella Hadid

5 Bella Hadid : Pinterest.jpg

Kendall Jenner

6 Kendall Jenner : Pinterest.jpg

Zendaya

7 Zendaya : Pinterest.jpg

Emily Ratajkowski

8 Emily Ratajkowski : @emrata.jpg

Dua Lipa

9 Dua Lipa : @dualipa.jpeg

Camille Charrière

10 Camille Charrière : @camillecharriere.jpg


Devon Lee Carlson

17 Devon Lee Carlson : @devonleecarlson.jpg

Leonie Hanne

12 Leonie Hanne : @leoniehanne.jpg

Elsa Hosk

13 Elsa Hosk : @hoskelsa.jpg

Carla Ginola

14 Carla Ginola : @carla_ginola.jpg

Noor de Groot

15 Noor de Groot : @queenofjetlags.jpg

Camila Coelho

16 Camila Coelho : @camilacoelho.jpg

Taelor Thein

18 Taelor Thein : @taelorthein.jpg

Amy Julliette Lefévre

19 Amy Julliette Lefévre : @lefevrediary.jpg

Mathilde Gøhler

20 Mathilde Goehler : @mathildegoehler.jpg

quan

Related post